6 days in Myanmar (so far)

I am sorry for you readers, to say, that Santa brought me the gift of wine…or at least the ability to find it anywhere. ANYWHERE! We just got back from the only winery in Myanmar, and believer it or not, it wasn’t even that bad. In fact, it was so not bad we each drank several glasses. So that has been our day – take this posting for what it’s worth.

It’s been a while since I last posted due to the fact that we have been in Myanmar where we are really struggling to get decent internet. I am afraid to say, this post won’t even have pictures because they are too hard to load.

We flew from Cambodia to Yangon. Upon arrival we had a bit of an adventure finding our room. I booked a place using Airbnb, which we found out is illigual for tourists in Myanmar. To make a very long story short, we thought we were sleeping on the streets, luckily our host finally showed up, we weren’t arrested, and we had a lovely stay. Honestly, I couldn’t imagaine a better stay.

Yangon is a very busy city with narrow streets, crazy taxi drivers, and a ton of people. We took a 3 hour train ride around the city that was fascinating, saw the local sites, and ate some street food. I can’t pin-point what it was, but while we were talking among the city I kept having this overwhelming feeling that something was about to break me. I could never say what it was, maybe it was the lack of public bathrooms, or lack of wifi, or just amount of people always around, but I just always felt overwhelmed. Also, I had been having some stomach issues, but on our 3rd day I was having some major issues. We had gotten up early to see this HUGE pagoda while the locals were there and I am certain I saw more of the bathroom than the sites.We ended up leaving the pogota early because I was so miserable. I for sure broke and cried about it. Thankfully my doctor prescribed some Cipro  It’s a medicine for Travel’s Diarrhea. I took the prescribed amount of those, a nap, and I was good to go. It was pretty amazing, because I was on the verge of having a nasty sickness (also, is it just me, or is it curious no other travel blogs talk about their stomach issues? Everyone gets them, but nobody acknowledges them).

That night we got on a night bus and headed to Inle Lake.  It’s a huge lake, used only for fishing and tourism.  We spent 10 hours yesterday seeing that sites, that included a sword maker, a silk shop, a paper maker, and all sorts of other things

Today we rode our bikes to the only winery in Myanmar. It was our Christmas treat. Tomorrow we will head to Bagan. Everyone we have talked to says it’s lovely, so we are only hoping to agree.

One thought on “6 days in Myanmar (so far)

  1. Suzanne Sayer

    Glad to hear from you. Merry Christmas. We’re missing you in Utah, but I’m certain you’re not missing the 6 inches of snow we have. 🎄⛄😘 Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

